Opening words

3 May

750088_791417171.jpgAhem… (clearing my throat). Well I guess I’d like to start with wishing you all welcome to this blog. I thought I’d better get started with a new one now that I’ve started working professionally with coffee. Up until last week I was a film director, but come June I’ll be roasting coffee in former world barista and -cupping champion Tim Wendelboes new coffee shop and roastery.

A major change in vocation perhaps but still working with one of my two big interests in life. I guess film will be my hobby from now on switching places with coffee.

As things progress and my skills improves I’ll post my thoughts and comments on coffee here. I guess it’s mainly for my own venting, but if anyone should find it interesting then all the better.

Today I’ll start out trying out Tims espresso blend. I can’t wait to experiment with it to find out it’s different aromas and tastes. The blend consists of: Fazenda Santa Alina from Brazil, La Esperanza from Colombia, La Montanita from El Salvador, Eeagads Estate from Kenya and Bukonya Estate from Rwanda.

According to Tim it’s best when pulled at 92,6 (more acidity) or 93,6˚C (more sweetness). I wont be able to control so finely on my ECM Giotto as I don’t have any PID, but I’ll give it a go anyhow. This blend is at it’s best served with little or no milk. Together Tim and I are going to put together a blend which will work better in drinks with more milk like a Cappucino or a latte.

I’ll jot down some notes while tasting and post my thoughts later.

So thats all for now.

2 Responses to “Opening words”

  1. Sam Saturday, November 3, 2007 at 7:19 #

    Why did you decide to stop being a film director?

  2. Olings Monday, November 5, 2007 at 19:36 #

    Ah! Good question, but no short answer I guess. It’s a mix of circumstances. I guess I’ll never stop being a film director, but it’s bound to take the backseat at least for a while. I’ll keep writing on my feature scripts though, so who knows what might happen later on in life. For now though that all seems very far away and I haven’t regretted my decision for a second.

Leave a Reply

