Cupping on the iPhone

3 Apr

Ok. I admit it: I’m a gadget freak. But what would life be without these all to often oh so useless, pricey machines that sparkle like jewels and make cool sounds?

Please don’t answer that question.

I have for a while been looking for an easier way to jot down cupping notes. My writing can sometimes be less than legible after hurriedly writing down notes on pieces of paper while cupping. Enter the iPhone! This little companion plays me music, entertains me with games and useless applications (and once in a while puts me in touch with other people.). Why can’t it be my cupping notepad?

This has bothered me for a while. Most of the crew at TW are loaded with iPhones just waiting to get that little bit more useful. Well, I’ve heard your pleas (even though you didn’t realize you were making them.)!

I have “modified” an application called Tap Forms (opens in iTunes) to double as a cupping form, and it works! You can even export the results. I’ve made an excel sheet that I can paste these results into so that they later on can be compared and stored.

As you can see I’m very thrilled about this, and it will last at least until I spill the first coffee on the iPhone. I enclosed some pictures below so you can gaze upon this wonder… Click on the pictures to see large versions.

(By the way, the cupping notes in the pictures below are just an example and not from an actual cupping of Mountain Top. It’s a great coffee, and I’m enjoying it as a single origin espresso at the moment.)

6 Responses to “Cupping on the iPhone”

  1. Stephen Leighton Sunday, April 5, 2009 at 0:07 #

    Any chance of the excel sheet ? Looks cool

    • Olings Sunday, April 5, 2009 at 10:11 #

      Of course. I’m not 100% happy with it yet, but as soon as I am I will e-mail it to you.

  2. ManSeekingCoffee Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 6:47 #

    If you’re sharing, please include me as well. I’d love to import it to my ipod touch. Just starting messing around with tapforms.

  3. Mark Friday, October 30, 2009 at 16:21 #

    Fantatsic idea. Maybe sometime soon the iphone will be able to create espresso as well..or at least grind coffee😉

  4. Olings Friday, October 30, 2009 at 19:01 #

    The iPresso! A tablet computer which has one USB port and portafilter slot. A two-finger swipe makes a double espresso!

  5. Jamie Wednesday, October 20, 2010 at 4:33 #

    If you still have the excel sheet I’d love a copy too. I’d love to import this to my iPhone.

Leave a Reply

